The Old Hamilton School House is regarded as one of the most important school houses in Tasmania with it’s unique architectural mix of Regency and the Gothic Revival design. The main School House and two self contained cottages are well suited as a family residence with multiple commercial options including heritage accommodation, regional art gallery, studio or antique store. The possibilities are endless.
The 250m2 cut stone School House was designed and built by architects Davidson and Spong in 1858, who were well known for designing highly individual buildings. The Hamilton School House is no exception with its unique and imposing breakfront design displaying gothic elements including the belfry, gables, buttresses and gablets. On the 5th of August, 1858 the foundation stone for the building was laid by Dr. Sharland after the local community raised funds with government support to build their new school at a cost of 750 pounds. The building was designed to accommodate 80 students along with the Headmaster’s private residence. In 1935, the new weatherboard school was built on the site, which later became a local library. During the 1960’s the buildings were recommended for demolition as they fell into disrepair, until the locals rallied to save them. The current owners purchased the property as a private residence and have since completed the restoration works.
The stately 2-storey School House is entered via a gothic arched portico and leadlight doors. The impressive entrance hall leads to a number of beautifully appointed rooms of grand proportions including the informal sitting room, dining room, bedroom with ensuite, sunroom, storage room and laundry. The charming kitchen is fully serviced with a gas oven, dishwasher, cabinetry, extensive preparation bench tops and a breakfast area. The stairs lead to 3-4 further bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. All rooms have electric heating, open fireplaces and beautiful views over the Western Tiers and surrounding farmland. There is a beautiful Wisteria-wrapped pergola at the back of the house, perfect for alfresco dining through the warmer months.
The picture book white 80m2 weatherboard library building is fully self contained with 2 bedrooms, a bathroom and large open plan kitchen/dining and living area. The charm is enhanced with beautiful sash windows, fireplace, tongue in groove lining boards and hardwood flooring. The 90m2 stone cottage is equally beautiful with 2 bedrooms, bathroom, separate powder room, large living and dining area, kitchenette and garage.
The established garden is abundant with native and deciduous trees including a magnificent Wych Elm, stone walling and extensive lawned areas. The 1.254ha (3.09 acre) property is well fenced with rear access to the property. Outbuildings includes a large 4.3m x 7.8m workshop, wood shed, chook pen and the old brick goat house. This property is serviced by town water, sewerage and mains power.
The School House is situated in historic Hamilton, known for its numerous original Georgian and early Victorian listed buildings. Set against the Mount Field National Park and the Western Tiers, the township is close to Lake Meadowbank and the Highland Lakes – home to some of the best fishing in the world. Nearby are the townships of Bothwell, Ouse, New Norfolk and the pristine Derwent Valley with world class wineries, distilleries, heritage sites, restaurants, galleries and antique stores. The city of Hobart and the Hobart Airport are within a 1 hour drive.
This unique property offers the rare opportunity to secure one of Tasmania’s important and unique historic country houses, perfectly suited as a tourism venture, weekend country escape, retreat or a private country home.
For further information or to arrange a private inspection, please contact –
CIRCA Heritage and Lifestyle Property
Heritage Property Specialist
Email – firstname.lastname@example.org
Mobile – 0438 500 277
LJ Hooker Pinnacle Property
Email – email@example.com
Mobile – 0439 554 623