Property Summary

Beds: 7 Baths: 3 Car Park: 6

Property Description

Between the Georgian and early Victorian period, coaching roads connected townships and villages throughout the Tasmanian countryside. Dotted along these roads were many beautiful coaching inns that provided hospitality for the traveller and stabling for their horses. The Prince of Wales, in the historic village of Carrick, is one of Tasmania’s most charming, well-preserved, and surviving examples of colonial era coaching inns. Built in c.1840, The Prince of Wales now provides a life changing opportunity to realise your dream venture in tourism/hospitality or simply create a unique country house.

The 2-storey triple brick Georgian building and bluestone stables was first licensed to Mathew Monahan in c.1840 as The Jolly Farmer Inn. Around 1877, the name changed to The Prince of Wales. The Inn operated as a coaching inn until 1920. Today it is a unique private family home.

The 340m2 Georgian building comprises of 6 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 5 formal and informal living areas, cellar, laundry, and storage areas. The fully serviced kitchen includes granite bench tops, 5 burner gas/electric oven and a Rayburn woodstove. The restored historic 155m2 bluestone stable is a self-contained residence with a spacious loft bedroom and living area, bathroom, kitchen, storage rooms and 3 phase power. The buildings retain numerous architectural features associated with the colonial period including pit sawn floorboards, panelled doors, fireplaces, high ceilings and multi paned windows.

The Prince of Wales is situated on a 8301m2 allotment with frontage to the Liffey River. The established woodland garden is abundant with native and deciduous trees, flower beds, bulbs, perennials, a fishpond, orchard, kitchen and vegetable gardens, extensive lawn areas and a magnificent 150 year old walnut tree. The property is well fenced and includes numerous charming outbuildings.

The property is well serviced by town water, heat pumps, 5.9kw solar panels and split system air conditioning.

The Prince of Wales is situated in the Georgian township of Carrick, known for its numerous heritage listed buildings – from quaint cottages to large historic houses, stores, bridges, churches and public buildings. Nearby are the historic townships of Hagley, Westbury and Longford. The region is spoilt by numerous tourism activities and sights including fishing, golf, wineries, eateries, historic estates, antique stores, and distilleries. The city of Launceston is a short 18km drive and Launceston Airport 24km.

The Prince of Wales offers a unique opportunity to secure one of Tasmania’s unique historic inns suitable as a tourism venture, weekend escape or a gracious country house.

For further information or to arrange a private inspection please contact Dominic Romeo on – 0438 500 277 or email – dominicromeo@circaheritgeandlifestyle.com.au